Great St. Mark's School

Campo Giovanni e Paolo Santissimi. (Open Map)


One of the six great Guildhalls of Venice, today it is part of the Civil Hospital. Built originally in 1260 for religious and humanitarian purposes, and rebuilt following a fire, the guildhall owes its very beautifully decorated marble facade to Pietro Lombardo who worked on it between 1485 and 1494. Many of the works once kept here are now in the Accademia Gallery. In front of the Guildhall stands the equestrian statue to Colleoni by Andrea Verrocchio.