Calabrian Scoletta

Campo San Tomà, 2863-2865. (Open Map)


The very old Shoemakers’ Guildhall with on the facade a marble decoration by Pietro Lombardo, depicting St Mark taking care of Aniano, the latter being the Shoemakers’ patron saint.
From 1446 the Shoemakers had the privilege of donating a pair of clogs to the Dogaressa (the Doge’s wife). The building houses the Municipality Library.