Piazza San Marco

Piazza San Marco. (Open Map)


St Mark’s Square is called a piazza and not a campo to distinguish it from the other squares and to emphasis its singular beauty - it is quite unique as a place for strolling about in and as a gathering place. 

Occupying the present area since the 12th century, in 1264 the square was paved in herringbone pattern bricks: this was in fact the original paving style that used to line the streets and squares of Venice. 

The present-day Euganean trachyte paving stones date from 1723. Enclosed on three sides by the arcaded buildings of the Procurators, it was once a remarkable showcase for feasts, ceremonies, tournaments and fairs.