The church was established by the Revd. John Davies Mereweather, Cavaliere della Corona d'Italia, who had settled in Venice. He held services in his flat in the Palazzo Contarini-Corfu until 1887. The current church building in the Campo San Vio was formerly the warehouse for the Venezia-Murano Glass and Mosaic Company. It was built to a design by engineer Luigi Marangoni, with sculptures by Napoleone Martinuzzi and dedicated in 1892.