Basilica of Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari

Campo dei Frari, 3002. (Open Map)


Once known as Ca’ Grande, erected between 1236 and 1338 through the efforts of the Conventual Franciscan Friars Minor, it was replaced by a grandiose Gothic Franciscan-style edifice in the 14th century, with a nave and two aisles and seven apsidal chapels. The imposing 14th century brick bell tower is one of the highest in Venice. The Basilica is one of the most important sacred buildings owing to the wealth of artworks that it houses. 
The interior, in the Latin cross plan, features precious paintings such as one of the masterpieces of Titian’s mature work, the Altarpiece of the Assumption (1516-1518), intended by the artist for the high altar. Other works worthy of note are the Triptych of the Virgin and Saints by Giovanni Bellini (1488), located in the Pesaro Chapel of the Sacresty and considered as one of the masterpieces of 15th century Venetian art, and the wooden statue of St John the Baptist, a superb work by Donatello.